Posted by: pizzainmotion | May 2, 2012

787 Dreamliner NRT-BOS Meal Service With Pics

Links to previous Dreamliner inaugural posts:

BOS-NRT 787 Trip-Arrival in BOS

JAL 787 Touches Down at BOS

BOS 787 Departure Delayed

Onboard the 787

787 Taking Off

787 BOS-NRT in Flight

787 Windows

787 BOS-NRT Inaugural Flight-Meal Service

787 Dreamliner BOS-NRT: Some Random Pics and Thoughts

787 Dreamliner Inaugural Flight: NRT-BOS

787 Dreamliner Inaugural Flight BOS-NRT Gift Bag

787 Dreamliner BOS-NRT:  Take-off Footage

787 Dreamliner NRT-BOS Meal Service With Pics

Coming soon: 787 Dreamliner Inaugural BOS-NRT Flight:  Something Most Women Would Enjoy Having For Their Husband/Boyfriend

First, pictures of the actual menus.  Again, not the greatest shots, but for those that want to see everything on the menu….

Japanese dining options.

I didn’t have a chance to sample this menu, opting instead for the Western menu.

Then, the 2 pages of supplemental menus for munchies later in the flight.

I chose the Wagyu beef on the Western menu, which meant I started with the marinated chicken Genovese with radish & broad bean.  That also came with the plum & bacon roll/minced chicken cake & pumpkin/mozzarella & olive medley.

I thought the chicken was decent.  Not a ton of flavor, but I thought it was tasty.  Plum and bacon roll was okay, chicken cake not to my liking, and the mozzarella and olive about what would be expected.

I also chose the Champagne again.  I remembered from my first flight that it tasted a bit different than I was used to.  Not spoiled, per se, just not the same flavor profile as I was used to for Perrier Jouet.  I decided to glance at the menu to see what other selections there were, and figured out why the Champagne tasted differently.  It wasn’t Perrier Jouet, as one of the outbound flight attendants had told me, but Joseph Perrier.  I’d never had it before, but it’s definitely not the same caliber as Perrier Jouet.  Serviceable, but I was hoping for something a bit better.

I was then approached by one of the senior flight attendants to tell me that they didn’t have enough of the Western second course to feed everyone who requested it.  She said a number of Japanese passengers had opted for the Western menu, so they were short.  They had enough of my entree choice, so I guess they over-cater entrees.  This wasn’t the worst news in the world, as I’m not a huge fan of terrines and chaud froid.  She said they were going to divide up the extra Japanese entrees as mini second courses for a few people.  So, I was a bit disappointed when she brought me the Western second course anyway, even though I’m sure I could have asked for the Japanese version.

As I mentioned, not a huge terrine fan.  I really enjoyed the crepe roll with tuna and pistachio.  The other two pieces tasted as they were supposed to, just not generally to my liking.

Next was the filet of Wagyu.  I’ve had Wagyu before, but mostly in small tasting portions, so I was looking forward to enjoying a full meal.  Somehow, I didn’t end up with a picture of this plate.

I found the steak to be cooked to my liking, right about medium rare.  It was perfectly fine, although I enjoyed the steak on the outbound flight more.  The Wagyu had a distinctive taste, not displeasing, just not my cup of tea.  Throw me a USDA prime strip any day of the week.  I opted for another bowl of rice since the last one I had was cooked perfectly.

From there, it was on to dessert.

Gotta like the chocolate sign printed in English.  🙂

The fruit parfait was fresh and enjoyable, an appropriate pallet cleanser.

After that, it was off to sleep.  However, I promised I would sample the supplemental menu since I didn’t do so on the BOS-NRT flight.

So, shortly after I woke up, I asked for the Campagne sandwich with steamed chicken and pastrami.  As you can see from the menu, this was one of the special catering choices just for BOS-NRT (marked Boston JAL 787!).  The bread was very fresh, crusty on the outside and soft on the inside.  I found the chicken and pastrami to be very flavorful.  And, what the heck, another bowl of steamed rice.

It seemed the right thing to give dessert another shot, too.  I started with the donuts.

The donuts were definitely a disappointment.  I’ve never had a Mister Donut before, so not sure what they’re supposed to taste like.  Maybe it was because they had been in refrigeration for a while, but I found the donuts very dense and hard.  I took a couple of bites, then decided it might be better for me to try the ice cream sandwich.

The ice cream sandwich was a big improvement over the donuts.  Again, never had a Boston 1955 ice cream sandwich (and felt a little like a traitor for eating something from Boston).  I’ve had ice cream sandwiches I’ve enjoyed more, but this one was pretty good.

Overall, I would rank the catering on both flights above the US carriers I’ve flown overseas (United and American), with the exception of wine selection.  I think American has a better wine selection internationally than JAL.  The steak I had on the BOS-NRT leg was one of the better meals I’ve had in the air.  I wouldn’t rank the catering as high as my Lufthansa experiences, though.  They really are the best I’ve had so far.

All in all, considering all the progress JAL has made over the last couple of years, I was satisfied with the quality of the food on both flights.


Responses

  1. […] 787 Dreamliner NRT-BOS Meal Service With Pics […]

  2. […] I spent the last couple of weeks chronicling my trip on the inaugural 787 Dreamliner flight from BOS….  I skipped over my actual time in Tokyo because I figured the Dreamliner story was more compelling to airline enthusiasts.  I’m planning to spend the next few days trying to remember the whirlwind 41 hours I spent in Tokyo. […]

  3. […] recently bumped up production to 3.5 planes per month and should soon be at 5.  I’ve detailed my experiences on the 787 and how game changing I think this plane is.  It’ll be great to see more of these planes enter service. Share […]

  4. […] all.  The cabin pressure and humidity made such a striking difference for me on my long flights.  In case you missed it, here’s info on my 787 experience. Share this:LinkedInFacebookTwitterPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  5. […] Winning a seat on the inaugural 787 flight from the US to Tokyo. […]

  6. […] That’s a whopping 265 hours (or 11 days) of the first 8 months of the year on airplanes.  And, just shy of halfway to the moon in terms of distance.  88 total flights, with the longest being my flight on the inaugural 787 trip from Boston to Tokyo. […]

  7. […] I enjoyed my voyage on the inaugural BOS-NRT 787 flight earlier this year, and the plane is noticeably quieter than every other plane with the exception of the A380 (they’re about the same from my experience), so people might not feel like they have to yell during a phone conversation.  But, I really do dread people being able to talk on the phone next to me in flight. Share this:LinkedInFacebookTwitterPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  8. […] I was lucky enough to be on the inaugural BOS-NRT Japan Airlines 787 flight back in April.  I’ve been eagerly awaiting the 787, believing it would change the way we experience flights.  Not a big stretch, but I was right.  While a small sample size, I suffered less dehydration and felt much more well rested after both of my long flights. […]

  9. […] a big fan of the 787.  I was lucky enough to get a ride on it in April on it’s inaugural trip from the US.  I’m also a big fan of AA.  I’d like to be able to experience the two together, but […]

  10. […] I had a great experience on the inaugural 787 Dreamliner flight from BOS to NRT earlier this year, and I can tell you the plane absolutely is a joy to fly.  The pressurization makes a huge difference and it’s significantly quieter then every other plane in the world with the exception of the A380 (which I found to be a similar noise level). […]

  11. […] a good many of the attendees already knew we would be boarding the 787 for our charter flights.  I’d already flown on the 787, but I was still looking forward to another ride on the plane of the […]

  12. […] becoming less necessary to get to the West coast to find a direct flight to Asia.  I was on the inaugural JAL 787 flight from Boston to Tokyo.  And, UA is now selling tickets for Denver-Tokyo.  In some ways, the need for large hubs on the […]

  13. […] in the air, or just shy of 5% of the year on airplanes.  123 planes in total.  No surprise my flight to Tokyo was the longest flight of the year.  Usually, my flights between DC and NYC are the shortest, but […]

  14. […] I can’t wait to spend more time on it.  The benefits of humidity and lower pressurization I experienced on my flight to and from Tokyo last year made it possible to handle a 13-hour flight without feeling like I’d been pushed through a […]

  15. […] also unclear if today’s incident would be categorized as a “major incident”. I was lucky enough to be on the inaugural BOS-NRT JAL 787 flight, so it’s perfectly likely this was the plane I flew. I’m still 100% behind the 787, and […]

  16. […] 787 remains my favorite plane to fly and my hopes are that this incident doesn’t slow down future deliveries to eager airline […]

  17. […] you follow my blog, it’s no secret I’m a big Dreamliner fan.  From the inaugural flight BOS-NRT on Japan Airlines to StarMegaDO2 and the best party in the air, StarMegaDO4, I’ve enjoyed every minute flying […]

  18. […] Let’s face it.  Most people don’t think about the type of plane they’re getting on when they fly.  The most important fact to most travelers is window versus aisle.  But, for a select few of us crazies, innovation in air travel is insanely interesting.  Like two car enthusiasts comparing a 67 Shelby to a Dodge Charger from the same year, airline geeks (yup, I’m a card-carrying member)trade war stories about inaugural flights on new plane types.  Mine was the inaugural 787 flight from Boston to Tokyo last year. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

