Posted by: pizzainmotion | June 8, 2012

Reviewing My Status Progress For The Year

Earlier in the year I carved out my goals for 2012.  Since I just finished re-qualifying for Hyatt Diamond, now seemed like a good time to do a bit of homework to see if I was on track.  We’re not quite to the halfway point of the year, but it’s been a busy 5 months or so.

American Airlines (Executive Platinum):  18K to go to finish out EXP for the year and I’ll earn 10K of those with credit card purchases.  This is a lock, and my favorite airline status.

United Airlines (1K):  My expectation here was 75K and Platinum status, a drop from last year.  However, I’m currently hovering at 50K with over half the year to go and StarMegaDO 4 coming.  80% likely I re-qualify for 1K.  This pales in comparison to my EXP but I do end up flying UA to get home earlier to see the family.  Tradeoffs exist everywhere in life.  Highly doubt I will hit 1K in 2013.

Starwood (Platinum):  Depending on how an award booking that I have next week posts, I will most likely finish up my re-qualification by August.  I need 12 stays or 19 nights which looks  highly likely.  I don’t value Platinum anywhere near as highly as Hyatt Diamond but it’s easy for me to get another year towards my lifetime status this year using award stays.

Hyatt (Diamond):  I now have 26 stays for the year, 1 more than needed to qualify for Diamond.  So, this is wrapped up.  By far my favorite hotel status and my second favorite program behind American.


I fully expect Hilton to drop me from Diamond status as I’ve had no stays this year.  I still maintain bottom-tier status with Marriott, which is worth about as much as a square tire.

United 1K continues to underwhelm.  I may consider some status on US Airways, and I’ll probably do a status match to Turkish as View From the Wing suggests so I can keep Star Alliance Gold.

What are your plans for status this year?  What loyalty card is the most valuable in your wallet?


Responses

  1. Stick $40k on the Hilton Surpass Amex to keep HHonors Diamond

    • Honestly, I don’t value the status very highly. And, since I don’t have any stays planned I figure the $40K is probably better spent on my Chase Sapphire card.

      • Just my two cents that you may want to take another look at Hilton elite status. They have majorly improved their elite tiers recently. I have noticed over my last two stays that they seem to be more aware of elites during checkin, checkin amenities, suite upgrades, etc. I may have just been lucky, but am hoping this is a move in the right direction 🙂

        • I’ve heard similar things from others. But, IMO, Hyatt and SPG have more aspirational properties than Hilton. And, where Hyatt may not have as many properties as Hilton, SPG has a property most places Hilton does. I’m far enough down the road to lifetime status with SPG and Hyatt that I’ll continue to focus my stays there until I finish up both of those.

  2. You might want to consider A3 *G, as it’s good for 3 years and as of now it appears that re-qualification involves crediting 1 flight to it during the 3 year period.

    • Ryan, I already submitted my status match to them yesterday. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

