Posted by: pizzainmotion | September 10, 2012

AwardWallet Takes Another Kick In The Teeth

Award Wallet is my go-to choice for tracking all my miles and points.  I’ve enjoyed how easy it makes my job of tracking miles for the various family members I help.

A while ago, American Airlines essentially told AwardWallet to bug off and stop accessing it’s site.  I was a bit bummed, especially since AA is usually more customer friendly than it’s legacy counterparts.  I had hoped AA would reconsider.

Unfortunately, it looks like the tide is headed in the opposite direction.

AwardWallet has announced it no longer supports Delta mileage accounts based on a cease and desist letter it received from Delta.

There’s already a discussion on Milepoint.

No doubt I’m not a big Delta fan.  But, this is definitely not good news.  Here’s hoping this doesn’t start a wave of programs choosing to block access from third-party sites such as this.  I get that there could be some fundamental security issues here, but in the name of technological advancement, it seems there has to be a way to make this work.  Trying to track all my miles and points across 30 different platforms, well, sucks.

Sigh.


Responses

  1. […] place to view my mileage account and reservations (at least for those airlines that have excluded AwardWallet viewing, like American and Delta).  I also don’t particularly find Travelocity, Expedia or Orbitz easier to use then the […]

  2. […] off aggregation sites like Award Wallet.  Just more piling on for some of my favorite services.  Award Wallet is a big part of being able to manage all the different accounts our family has.  While I’m […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

