Posted by: pizzainmotion | October 26, 2012

Passbook A Bit Cooler Then I Originally Thought

One of the features I’m enjoying most about the new OS on the iPhone5 is Passbook. Since anyone with an iPhone 4 can also download the new OS, this feature alone may make it worth it if you travel.

I wrote about my first experience with Passbook (a positive one).

I had a pretty cool experience today, made cooler by the fact that United Airlines actually had good enough technology to make this work, though I suspect it’s probably the iOS API that made it possible.

I had already checked in for my flight home on UA today and downloaded my boarding pass to Passbook. Miraculously, I was upgraded to first a short time later (my upgrade percentage with UA still blows chunks). I went back into UA’s mobile app to retrieve a new boarding pass only to find Passbook already had it.

It’s pretty neat when technology just makes our lives easier.


Responses

  1. […] but have moved ticket counters over to T3.  So, if you print your boarding pass before you leave (or use Passbook, which I highly recommend) you can still get dropped off at T1.  The best way to do so is to ask to be dropped off in the […]

  2. […] looks like they’ll be the first major chain to launch Passbook integration for the iPhone.  I’m a huge fan of Passbook, and I’m thrilled to hear that my go-to hotel chain is going to be making my life easier with […]

  3. […] Passbook has really improved the quality of my flying experience.  I’ve been using it on my American and United flights and enjoying the ease of use it adds to m…. […]

  4. […] biased, because I love Passbook.  But, really?  It’s that hard to open up the Passbook and click on the Welcome page to get […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

